Students at the M.J.C. East Campus

Get Started at MJC

Step 1: Apply Online
Step 2: Access your MJC Email 
Step 3: College Orientation 
Step 4: Assessment Testing 
Step 5: Education Plan
Step 6: Official Transcripts
Step 7: Apply for Financial Aid
Step 8: Register for Classes
Step 9: Pay Fees

Need help?

Contact the friendly Admissions Office staff if you have questions about adding or dropping classes, or filing for pass/no pass.

The Assessment Testing Office administers tests to help you select appropriate courses or satisfy pre-requisites.

International students should start by visiting our Information for International Students.

Modesto Junior College
Decorative Header Image

Accreditation Council


  • To develop, implement, monitor, review,  evaluate, and revise college accreditation activities in accordance with the college mission, vision, and college goals.
  • Serve as the steering committee for the accreditation process.Provide leadership in the development, planning, preparation, supervision and completion of the accreditation self evaluation.
  • Promote a campus culture that is concerned about accreditation.
  • Support the legal responsibilities of all constituency groups.


The Accreditation Council will make recommendations to the College Council on the following:

  • Annual ACCJC reports
  • Self Evaluation
  • Midterm, Follow-Up, and Special Reports to ACCJC
  • Culture of accreditation
  • Student Learning Outcomes


Flex Activity # 6024 – ACCJC Accreditation Basics – it is a self-paced, interactive, web-based training.  Estimated time of completion is 90 minutes.  The course can be accessed at


Dr. James Todd, Vice President of Student Services/Council Chair/Accreditation Liaison Officer/Standard II Co-Chair

Dr. Jennifer Zellet, Vice President of Instruction/Standard Co-Chair I

Dr. Al Alt, Vice President College & Administrative Services/Standard III Co-Chair

Jenni Abbott, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness

Michael Smedshammer, Distance Education Coordinator

Patrick Bettencourt, Dean of Instruction and Student Learning

Dr. Theresa Stovall, Academic Senate/Faculty Standard I Co-Chair

Curtis Martin, Professor-History/Council Co-Chair/Academic Senate/Faculty Standard Co-Chair II

Chad Redwing, Professor- Humanities, Academic Senate

Kevin Alavezos, Professor-Office Administration/Faculty Standard IV Co-Chair

Tiffnie-Ann Versola, Program Specialist, Student Services/CSEA

Sounisa Lee, Grants Accounting Analyst, Grants Office/CSEA

Kevyn Canaveral, Student/ASMJC

Gabriela Lopez, Student/ASMJC

Sabrina Miranda, Meeting Recorder